Ever since its foundation, the firm has been regarded as “incontournable” (essential) or “excellent” by the leading specialist magazine Décideurs Stratégie Finance Droit in matters of tax litigation and assistance with assessment. Its partners feature in the highly selective global guide “Tax controversy leaders”, published by the International Tax Review. He has also appeared in the global “Best Lawyers” guide for many years. Since 2011, the firm has been named “Tax Litigation Law Firm of the Year in France” several times by English-speaking publications, in particular by Global Law Experts and Corporate INTL in 2017. In 2018, the firm received the Gold Trophy for « best team specializing in tax litigation », awarded on January 24 at the Trophées du Droit. In addition to its successful track record before lower courts and appeal courts, the firm’s attorneys regularly win cases setting precedent before France’s supreme courts. Some significant decisions:

2018 Nov

The right to short statute of limitations

At the end of 2018, the Cabinet obtained an important decision from the Conseil d’Etat (26 November 2018, No. 421492) on the implementation of the short limitation period applicable to members of an approved association or management centre until it is repealed by the Finance Act for 2015. On this occasion, the Conseil d’Etat specifies that a data entry error made by the administration constitutes a tax error within the meaning of Article L 168 of the LPF. The administration cannot therefore free itself from the temporal limits of its right of return notwithstanding the fact that the establishment of a tax, in accordance with the wording of a taxpayer’s return, does not require the initiation of a contradictory rectification procedure.

2017 Oct

The repeal of the 3% tax

On 30 September 2016 the firm, acting for Layher, obtained from the Conseil Constitutionnel a declaration of unconstitutionality regarding the provisions limiting exemption from the additional Corporation Tax (IS) contribution of 3% on dividends and distributions to fiscally consolidated groups. Criticised for their misreading of the principles of equality before the law and before the charges levied by the State, these provisions were specifically depriving French companies owned by foreign companies from benefiting from this exemption, including when the condition of a shareholding of over 95% was met.

This decision represents an important milestone in the litigation that has arisen concerning the 3% contribution. Judging that the negative difference in treatment is not justified either by a difference in situation or by general interest, the decision of 30 September postponed the repeal of the disputed provisions until 1st January 2017. However, it opened up the way for refund claims based on the misreading of international agreements prohibiting discrimination (European Union law, international tax agreements, European Convention on Human Rights) (Cons. const., 30 September 2016, No. 2016-571 QPC). Following this decision, the Government inserted an Article 95 in the 2016 Amending Finance Bill, which provides for the extension of the exemption to all companies with a stake of over 95% in their French subsidiary.

On 29 March 2017, in accordance with the firm’s conclusions, the Conseil d’Etat cancelled the postponement to 1st January 2017 of the repeal of the provisions criticised by the Conseil Constitutionnel in its ruling of 30 September 2016, based on the principle of non-discrimination laid down in the European Convention on Human Rights (n°399506).

The firm also assisted Jeff de Bruges in claiming that the 3% contribution was unconstitutional based on the reverse discrimination that this tax introduced to the detriment of redistributions of dividends from France or from outside the European Union. It also supported the identical QPC (application for a priority preliminary ruling on the issue of constitutionality) submitted by SOPARFI, in order to obtain a solution extending and reinforcing the Layher ruling. The ruling by the Conseil Constitutionnel of 6 October 2017 (n° 2017-660 QPC), which has been particularly highlighted and mediatised, invalidates the 3% tax entirely.

2016 Jul

The preferential regime for journalists

For several years, the firm has been dealing with tax disputes involving editorial secretaries from a media group. Having obtained several favourable decisions from the trial and appeal courts, on 27 July 2016 the firm obtained confirmation from the Conseil d’Etat that these employees, involved in creating the information content, can benefit from the income tax system applicable to journalists (CE, 27 July 2016, No. 389297).

2015 Jan

The valuation of term receivables

In early 2015, the firm obtained a second favourable ruling from the Conseil Constitutionnel, relating to Article 760, which requires taxpayers to value term debts at their nominal value with regard to inheritance tax and wealth tax (ISF). Valuation at actual value is only possible if the taxpayer is in a state of insolvency (“déconfiture” – an imprecise concept relating to bankruptcy of individuals) or is subject to insolvency proceedings (companies). However, even in such cases, this text states that any sums subsequently recovered above the originally estimated value, in practice sometimes several years later, must be declared and taxed (3rd paragraph). This provision was ruled to be contrary to the principle of equality before charges levied by the State. In its ruling, the Conseil Constitutionnel also clarified the concept of insolvency in favour of the taxpayer. (CC, 15 January 2015, 2014-436 QPC).

2012 Dec

Transfer pricing and extended prescription

At the end of 2012, following drawn-out proceedings, the firm obtained a landmark decision from the Conseil d’Etat concerning the extension of the statute of limitation for alleged profit transfers between French and foreign companies considered as dependent (Art. 57 of the French Tax Code and L 188 A of the Tax Procedure Code).

Article L 188 A of the Tax Procedure Code allows a maximum two-year extension when the authorities have sent an information request to the national authorities in the country to which the French company has allegedly improperly transferred profits.

The Conseil d’Etat ruled that as a derogating measure such an extension of the statute of limitations should be interpreted very strictly. It therefore decided that in the particular case the French authorities had not validly extended the time period in a “triangular” situation in which it had questioned the German authorities on the sale of goods from Germany to a company based in Jersey, which had then sold them to the French company concerned by the proceedings (CE, 28 Dec. 2012, no. 345111, Min vs/ Sté Technipex, RJF 2013, no. 329).

Following this ruling, the Government was required to insert a provision in the Law on tax fraud of 6 December 2013, to hold this principle in check and extend the special time period in Article L 188A to any request sent to a foreign State concerning a taxpayer, regardless of the object of such request.

2011 Jan

The opposite evidence versus external signs of wealth

In 2011 the firm obtained a rare decision in favour of the taxpayer from the Constitutional Court, after contesting the taxation system based on ‘external signs of wealth’ pursuant to Article 168 of the Tax Code (CC, 21 January 2011, no. 2010-88 QPC, Boisselier, RJF 2011, no. 482). The most inconsistent aspects of Article 168 were found to be unconstitutional. Essentially, the firm successfully argued that this article could not be interpreted as prohibiting taxpayers from producing evidence that their theoretical income determined by the flat-rate taxation system is incorrect, without violating the principle of equality.

This decision weakens all tax legislation laying down irrebuttable taxable base presumptions. It had an immediate effect on the case law of the Conseil d’Etat, which consequently now permits a taxpayer to produce proof that the amount of tax determined as a result of automatic taxation may be excessive, even when the law (Article L.16, paragraph 3, of the Tax Procedure Code) appears to prohibit this (CE 30 March 2011, no. 334-895, Uy, RJF 2011, no. 678).

It subsequently served as inspiration for the Conseil Constitutionnel, in its ruling of 20 January 2015, regarding operations carried out with Non-Cooperative Countries and Territories (NCCT), which stated that the taxpayer should be authorised to produce evidence that their shareholding in a company incorporated in an NCCT corresponded to actual operations without the purpose or effect of fraudulently domiciling profits in that country (CC, 20 January 2015, AFEP and others, no. 2014-437 QPC). Extended in a decision of 25th November 2016 (n° 2016-598 QPC), this solution directly leads to the formulation of an « interpretive reservation » from the Conseil constitutionnel about the lump-sum basis of article 123 bis of the French Tax Code (CC, 1 March 2017, n° 2016-614 QPC; 6 October 2017, n° 2017-659 QPC), applicable to deemed distributed incomes by entities established in States which do not have an agreement on mutual administrative assistance with France.

2010 Jan

The centre of economic interests redefined

In the ‘Caporal’ case in 2010 the firm successfully argued before the Conseil d’Etat that assets which do not generate income cannot be used to characterise a centre of economic interest within the meaning of Article 4B of the Tax Code. This ruling makes a significant contribution to the definition of territoriality criteria for income tax (CE, 27 January 2010, no. 294-784, Caporal, RJF 2010, no. 311).

2003 Dec

Freedom of establishment and interest deduction

The ‘Coréal Gestion’ case on European law. The ruling of 30 December 2003 (no. 249.047, Sect. RJF 2004, no. 233) was one of the first significant instances of the Conseil d’Etat applying the freedom of establishment to tax matters. The Conseil d’Etat effectively dismissed Article 212-1 of the French Tax Code (as enacted at the time), which limited the deduction of interest paid by a French company to its foreign parent company.

1991 Nov

Unlawful evidence and the power to search

Concerning search warrants granted to the tax authorities, the Cour de cassation ruled on 27 November 1991 in the ‘Michaut’ case that a court cannot issue a search warrant on the basis of documents produced by the tax authorities that may have been unlawfully obtained (C. Cass. Commercial division, no. 9O-106O7, 90-1O608, 90-1198O, Bull. Civ. 1991 IV no. 363). This principle was then applied by the Court de Cassation in a case involving data stolen from HSBC (C. Cass. Commercial division, 31 January 2012, no 11-13O97). In this way, the Conseil Constitutionnel in its decision of 4 December 2013 (n° 2O13-679 DC) expressed an ‘interpretive reservation’ stating that the administration cannot rely on documents obtained through an administrative or judicial body in conditions then found unlawful by a judge.

Depuis sa création, le cabinet a été considéré comme « incontournable » par le magazine de référence Décideurs Stratégie Finance Droit, en matière de contentieux fiscal et d’assistance à redressement. Ses associés figurent dans le très sélectif guide mondial « Tax controversy leaders » publié par l’International Tax Review et dans le guide mondial « Best Lawyers ». Le Cabinet s'est vu à plusieurs reprises décerner, depuis 2011, par des magazines anglo-saxons le titre de "Tax Litigation Law Firm of the Year in France" et notamment pour 2018 par Corporate International et 2019 par Global Law Experts. En 2018, il a reçu le Trophée d’Or de la meilleur équipe spécialisée en contentieux fiscal décerné lors de la cérémonie des Trophées du Droit.   Outre de très nombreuses décisions favorables en première instance et en appel, les avocats du Cabinet obtiennent régulièrement des décisions juridictionnelles de principe des juridictions suprêmes françaises, dont certaines ont été abondamment commentées. Quelques décisions significatives :

2018 Nov.

Le droit à la prescription abrégée

Le Cabinet obtient fin 2018 une importante décision du Conseil d’Etat (26 novembre 2018, n° 421492) sur la mise en œuvre du délai abrégé de prescription applicable aux adhérents d’une association ou d’un centre de gestion agréée jusqu’à son abrogation par la loi de finances pour 2015. A cette occasion, le Conseil d’Etat précise qu’une erreur de saisie commise par l’administration constitue une erreur d’imposition au sens de l’article L 168 du LPF. L’administration ne peut dès lors s’affranchir des limites temporelles de son droit de reprise nonobstant le fait que l’établissement d’une imposition, conformément aux énonciations d’une déclaration du contribuable, ne nécessite pas l’engagement d’une procédure de rectification contradictoire.

2017 Oct.

L'abrogation de la taxe de 3%

Le 30 septembre 2016, le Cabinet – conseil de la société Layher – obtient du Conseil constitutionnel la déclaration d’inconstitutionnalité des dispositions réservant aux seuls groupes fiscalement intégrés l’exonération de contribution additionnelle à l’IS de 3 % sur les montants distribués (Cons. const., 30 septembre 2016, Layher, n° 2016-571 QPC). Censurées pour méconnaissance des principes d’égalité devant la loi et devant les charges publiques, ces dispositions privaient notamment les sociétés françaises détenues par des sociétés étrangères du bénéfice de cette exonération, y compris lorsque la condition de détention à plus de 95 % était satisfaite.

Cette décision constitue une étape importante dans le contentieux de place qui s’est noué autour de la contribution de 3 %. Jugeant que la différence de traitement ainsi sanctionnée n’est justifiée ni par une différence de situation, ni par un motif d’intérêt général, la décision du 30 septembre a reporté l’abrogation des dispositions litigieuses au 1er janvier 2017. Elle a néanmoins ouvert la voie à des demandes de restitution fondées sur la méconnaissance de stipulations conventionnelles prohibant les discriminations (droit de l’Union européenne, conventions fiscales internationales, Convention européenne des droits de l’Homme). A la suite de cette décision, le Gouvernement a fait inscrire à l’article 95 de la loi de finances rectificative pour 2016 une disposition étendant l’exonération à l’ensemble des sociétés détenant plus de 95% de leur filiale française.

Le 29 mars 2017, suivant les conclusions présentées par le Cabinet, le Conseil d’Etat a neutralisé, sur le terrain du principe de non-discrimination garanti par la Convention européenne de sauvegarde des droits de l’Homme, le report de l’abrogation au 1er janvier 2017 des dispositions censurées par le Conseil constitutionnel dans sa décision du 30 septembre 2016 (n° 399506).

Par ailleurs, le Cabinet assistait la société Jeff de Bruges en soutenant l’inconstitutionnalité de la contribution de 3 % à raison de la discrimination à rebours que cette imposition instituait au détriment des redistributions de dividendes d’origine française ou extracommunautaire. Aussi est-il intervenu au soutien de la QPC identique posée par la société SOPARFI pour obtenir une solution qui prolonge et renforce la décision Layher. Particulièrement remarquée et médiatisée, la décision du Conseil constitutionnel du 6 octobre 2017 (n° 2017-660 QPC) invalide l’ensemble de la contribution de 3 %.

2016 Juil.

Le régime de faveur des journalistes

Le Cabinet suit depuis plusieurs années des contentieux fiscaux intéressant des secrétaires de rédaction d’un groupe de presse. Après avoir obtenu plusieurs décisions favorables des juges du fond, le Cabinet obtient le 27 juillet 2016 la confirmation par le Conseil d’Etat que ces salariés participant à l’élaboration du contenu de l’information peuvent bénéficier du régime de faveur applicable aux journalistes en matière d’impôt sur le revenu (CE, 27 juillet 2016, n° 389297).

2015 Janv.

L'évaluation des créances à terme

Au début de l’année 2015, le Cabinet obtient, après la décision Boisselier de 2011, une deuxième décision favorable du Conseil constitutionnel. Elle concerne l’article 760 du CGI qui impose aux contribuables d’évaluer les créances à terme à leur valeur nominale en matière de droits de mutation à titre gratuit et d’ISF – l’évaluation à la valeur réelle n’étant possible que si le contribuable est en déconfiture (notion imprécise désignant l’insolvabilité des particuliers) ou fait l’objet d’une procédure collective (entreprises). Mais même en pareil cas, ce texte prévoit que toute somme recouvrée ultérieurement au-delà de la valeur estimée originellement – soit en pratique parfois plusieurs années plus tard – doit être déclarée et taxée (3e alinéa). Ce dispositif est déclaré contraire au principe d’égalité devant les charges publiques. A l’occasion de sa décision, le Conseil clarifie, en outre, au bénéfice des contribuables la notion de déconfiture (CC, 15 janvier 2015, 2014-436 QPC).

2012 Déc.

Les prix de transfert et la prescription allongée

Fin 2012, après une longue procédure, le Cabinet obtient du Conseil d’Etat une décision remarquée concernant la prorogation du délai de prescription concernant les transferts de bénéfices présumés entre sociétés françaises et étrangères considérées comme dépendantes (art. 57 du CGI et L 188 A du LPF).
L’article L 188 A autorisait cette prorogation à une durée maximale de deux ans lorsque l’administration avait demandé des renseignements aux autorités de l’Etat avec lequel l’entreprise française entretenait des relations présumées anormales.

Le Conseil d’Etat a estimé que s’agissant d’une mesure dérogatoire, cette prorogation de la prescription devait être interprétée strictement. Il a donc décidé qu’au cas particulier, l’administration française n’avait pas valablement prorogé le délai dans une situation « triangulaire » en interrogeant les autorités allemandes sur la vente de marchandises, depuis l’Allemagne, à une société de Jersey qui les avaient elle-même revendues à la société française vérifiée (CE, 28 décembre 2012, n° 345111, Technipex).

A la suite de cette décision, le Gouvernement a été contraint de faire insérer dans la loi relative à la fraude fiscale du 6 décembre 2013 une disposition tenant en échec cette jurisprudence et étendant le champ du délai spécial de l’article L 188 A à toute demande adressée à un Etat étranger concernant un contribuable et ce, quel qu’en soit l’objet.

2011 Janv.

La preuve contraire opposée aux signes extérieurs de richesse

En 2011, le Cabinet obtient, en matière de QPC, une des premières décisions favorables aux contribuables, en contestant le dispositif d’imposition selon le système des « signes extérieurs de richesse » de l’article 168 du CGI (CC, 21 janvier 2011, n° 2010-88 QPC, Boisselier). Le Cabinet fait juger que ce texte ne peut s’interpréter sans porter atteinte au principe d’égalité comme interdisant aux contribuables de prouver le défaut de pertinence du revenu théorique qui leur est assigné par le système d’imposition forfaitaire.

Cette décision a fragilisé tous les textes fiscaux instituant des présomptions irréfragables d’assiette. Elle a immédiatement affecté la jurisprudence du Conseil d’Etat et a inspiré le Conseil constitutionnel lorsqu’il a jugé, dans une décision du 20 janvier 2015, à propos des opérations réalisées avec des Etats ou territoires non coopératifs (ETNC), que le contribuable devait être autorisé à apporter la preuve que sa prise de participation dans une société établie dans un ETNC correspondait à des opérations réelles n’ayant ni pour objet ni pour effet d’y localiser frauduleusement des bénéfices (CC, 20 janvier 2015, AFEP et autres, n° 2014-437 QPC). Prolongée dans une décision du 25 novembre 2016 (n° 2016-598 QPC), cette solution a directement conduit à la formulation d’une réserve d’interprétation du Conseil constitutionnel sur l’assiette forfaitaire de l’article 123 bis du CGI (CC, 1er mars 2017, n° 2016-614 QPC ; 6 octobre 2017, n° 2017-659 QPC) applicable aux revenus présumés distribués par des structures établies dans des Etats n’ayant pas conclu de convention d’assistance administrative avec la France.

2010 Janv.

Le centre des intérêts économiques redéfini

En 2010 dans l’affaire Caporal, le Cabinet a fait juger que des éléments du patrimoine qui ne sont pas productifs de revenus ne peuvent servir à caractériser le centre des intérêts économiques au sens de l’article 4B du CGI, permettant ainsi une importante avancée dans la définition des critères de territorialité de l’impôt sur le revenu (CE, 27 janvier 2010, n° 294784).

2003 Déc.

La liberté d'établissement et la déduction des intérêts

En droit de l’Union européenne, le Cabinet obtient l’arrêt de Section Coréal Gestion du 30 décembre 2003 (n° 249047), une des premières décisions du Conseil d’État faisant une application significative de la liberté d’établissement en matière fiscale. Sur ce fondement, le Conseil d’Etat a en effet écarté l’article 212-1 du CGI (dans sa rédaction de l’époque) qui restreignait la déduction des intérêts versés par une société française à sa société mère lorsque celle-ci était étrangère.

1991 Nov.

Les preuves illicites et le pouvoir de perquisition

En matière de perquisitions fiscales, Alain Frenkel fait juger par la Cour de cassation, dans l’arrêt Michaut du 27 novembre 1991, qu’une perquisition fiscale ne peut être autorisée par le juge sur le fondement de documents présentés par l’administration dont l’origine n’est apparemment pas licite (Cass. Com., n° 9O-1O6O7, 90-1O608, 9O-1198O). Cette jurisprudence a été appliquée par la Cour de Cassation dans l’affaire des fichiers volés à HSBC (Cass. Com. 31 janvier 2012, n° 11-13O97). Le Conseil constitutionnel a repris cette solution à l’occasion de sa décision du 4 décembre 2013 (n° 2O13-679 DC), dans laquelle il a formulé une réserve d’interprétation énonçant que l’administration ne peut se prévaloir de pièces ou documents obtenus par une autorité administrative ou judiciaire dans des conditions déclarées ultérieurement illégales par le juge.